On top of our own content, Avenue Web Media brings you the best articles online from other sources we endorse.The following is an article from an external source and as such it wasn't written by a member of our team. If you like the article visit the source for more quality content.
A Very Unfortunate Error For Farecast and Live
Posted by Jane Copland
This morning, I was talking to Rob Kerry about some particularly competitive search phrases and looking around in the SERPs. We'd gone through most of the usual suspects when [cheap flights] came up. Google duly returned its top ten, and at the bottom, I noticed farecast.live.com.
The page loaded, but I definitely didn't recognise the content as belonging to either Farecast or Microsoft.


Web-Sniffer's results were also amusing, as refreshing farecast.live.com's Web-Sniffer result brought up alternate pages on every attempt as well. Whilst the strange, rotating content was interesting, the fact that the parked page showed up was more so. Suspecting that this was a DNS error of Microsoft's making, Rob wondered if he could add Live.com to his list of parked domains. He could.
23:02:23 Rob: "Live.com has successfully been added to your parking account"
23:02:28 Jane: no
23:02:29 Jane: f***ing
23:02:29 Jane: way
Since earning income in this manner is well and truly illegal, Rob emailed Sedo immediately. The traffic and commission has stopped and the problem appears to have been rectified. Similarly on Microsoft's end, farecast.live.com now resolves correctly.
Because Rob can explain this stuff far better than I can (although he's promised to teach me if I continue buying him pints of Guinness), I'll let him spell out what happened:
It appears that Microsoft is using Akamai for their DNS and Content Distribution Network on farecast.live.com. This usually involves either the service provider caching a copy of their client's content on globally distributed servers to prevent server overloading, or filtering out the requests between the client's servers in order to balance load. My best guess is that a Microsoft employee has specified an IP address belonging to the domain auction and parking provider, Sedo. Sedo's parking servers are designed to allow any domain name to point to them (in this case the subdomain farecast.live.com) and serve appropriate adverts for the domain.

